Kabobbling it.

-The word kabob just sounds weird. In fact, the spell check on this blog tells me it’s not a real word at all.

I’ve always associated kabobs with easy grilling. Throw a bunch of veggies and meat on a stick, and let the grill do the work. Not much creativity to it.

So naturally, I had to try it.

My creativity blew it.

Using some beef tips normally suited for stew and the skewers we own, I chopped up some mushrooms (which were insanely too hard to place on a skewer), green peppers and onions to attempt my first kabob.

Beef tips for stew. I beg to differ.

The seasonings was a relatively simple one: cumin, salt, black pepper, garlic and lemon pepper.

The fun part was the assembly. A tip: NEVER cut a mushroom in four parts for a skewer, I ended up with more pieces off the skewer than actually on it.

A few turns on the Weber and it was done.

“If finding a way to make creative kabobs gets me home to my wife, then, that’s my mission.” -Tom Hanks, probably.

At some point, I’m going to figure out a creative way to make these boring concoctions.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment