Emptying out my beer odyssey.

-In recent weeks, I’ve made it a point to find some new beers, so here are some the tasty brews I recommend after trying them throughout the past two weeks.

Hog Haus’ Abbey Road Belgian Dubbel.

Brewed in the friendly confines of Fayetteville’s own Hog Haus Brewery. The spice notes are really sweet, but the finish goes well with red meat.

Looks like a cider. Tastes like victory.

Also recommended from Hog Haus, Woodstock Wheat.

Bought a growler of it and the picture of it states that it looks pretty much like every wheat you’ve ever seen, so why take a picture of the beer itself. Really light taste. Find out more about these brews here.

Hogs everywhere.

Scrimshaw Pilsner, via The Joint in North Little Rock. Brewed by the North Coast Brewing Company, it’s brewed with Munich malt and, Hallertauer and Tettnang hops. Pretty solid to sip on while you’re being dragged to a play by your wife.

Mendocino Oatmeal Stout.

Making me a believer.

A California-based brewery, Mendocino has me coming into the light as far as dark brews are concerned. I’ve never been able ot handle them, but the best part about this particular oatmeal stout is that it eliminates the one thing I loathe about most dark brews, the sour-as-hell aftertaste. It’s totally smooth going down, It’s brewed with a “massive quantities of oats” and generous amounts of hops from the United Kingdom.

Every beer also comes with this helpful direction, probably designed for the fifth beer in a six pack.

Thanks.

Great month for my pallet. Not such a great month for my liver.

Tagged ,

Leave a comment